Butte County Teacher of the Year

Butte County Office of Education started the annual, Butte County Teacher of the Year recognition program in 2018.  District, charter and County Office administrators may nominate one of their outstanding teachers to be considered for county-wide recognition. Our largest district, Chico Unified, may nominate two teachers.

A committee of education professionals reviews nomination materials and conducts interviews of each nominee to make a selection.

BCOE can also submit the names of the Butte County Teachers of the Year to the California Department of Education to be considered for recognition as the State Teacher of the Year.

The educators being considered for 2018 Butte County Teacher of the year are:

  • Amy Brooks / OCESD / lshi Middle School
  • Carly Brown / Palermo/ Palermo Middle School
  • Jenise Coon/ CUSD / Chico High School
  • Ann Dempsey/ Manzanita/ Manzanita Elementary School
  • Eric Gillard / Paradise / Paradise High School
  • Erin Hall / Inspire/ High School
  • Peter Howell / Biggs / Biggs High School
  • Kelly Huddleson/ Bangor/ Bangor Elementary School
  • Angie Kuntzler / Thermalito / Plumas Avenue School
  • Jona O'Shea / Durham / Durham Elementary School
  • Melinda Stenzel-Collins / BCOE / Mesa Vista School
  • Ger Thao/ Gridley/ Woodrow Wilson Elementary School
  • Kelli Voss / CUSD / Shasta Elementary School

Butte County's first-ever Teacher of the Year was announced Saturday evening, June 2, 2018 at the Chico Heat baseball game in Nettleton Stadium: Jona O'Shea from Durham Elementary School.  All Teachers of the Year were honored at the Chico Heat game, and each received two, free tickets to see the Chico Heat.  Generous program sponsors treated teachers to the Heat Suite at the game and to blocks of game tickets for their nominating schools.

The Butte County Teachers of the Year Program is presented by BCOE in partnership with the Chico Heat, the Ray Morgan Company, and Golden Apple Insurance.